Ophoven, located in rural Limburg, is a village with a rich history. In 1973 a burial site was found that was in use from early Roman times to the Merovingian period, but was abandoned between 720 and 740. In the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries, the village suffered a lot from troops of soldiers.
For example, the residents had a hard time with the maintenance of the French troops, which caused the village to fall into debt. Ophoven also had to deal with the gangs of the Bokkenrijders, who plundered the area with their raids. The village is located on the edge of the Meuse valley; a large plain over which the Meuse ran during the Holocene. From 1944, the area was excavated for gravel extraction, creating large ponds of water. These now form the water sports recreation area De Spaanjerd.
Kessenich is one of the oldest boroughs of Kinrooi. It is strategically located on a spur of the Meuse Middle Terrace. Traces of prehistoric presence have been found in the area and a Gallic burial field has been found near the town hall. Kessenich used to be known for the large gravel extraction in the surrounding area. In some places the gravel layer was ten meters thick. The village has a number of beautiful sights such as the Saint Martin Church, the Borgitter Castle and the Borchmolen.
You pass one of the few remaining watermills on the Ittersebeek. The Armenmolen is a water mill that was used to grind grain. The underslag watermill was built in 1686 to give poorer people the opportunity to grind their grain. The mill performed its function until 1950. The outside still looks authentic, but the Armenmolen is now used as a home.