Nederlands Zilvermuseum Call us
Visit the website
This former monastery was built in 1412, but largely destroyed during the city fire of 1518. The monastery was restored, but Catholic services were banned following the Reformation. Part of the building was redeveloped as an arsenal and the other part as an old women's home. In the 18th century, the building became a warehouse and school. In 1862 the building was renovated and converted into a barracks. Later the conscientious objectors were housed here. Today, the Silver Museum is located in the south wing. This museum, located in the former harbor barracks, shows the history of Dutch utility silver: from ore to the actual end product. The collection provides a representative picture from 1600 to the present day. In the Silversmithy, artisan blacksmiths reveal their secrets, after which visitors can get to work in the Silver Lab. Take a look here and see, feel, smell and hear silver.
South Holland The Netherlands
Share this point of interest