De Molen van Fakkert (romp/restant) Visit the website
De Molen van Fakkert is an octagonal tower mill, which has functioned as a flour mill since its construction in 1862. In 1868 the mill was rebuilt after a fire caused considerable damage. The mill could then be used as a flour mill and as a linseed mill. In 1930 the position collapsed due to storm damage. In 1964 the mill was completely dismantled, leaving only the mill hull left. The mill was then built inside with silos. Despite that, the mill and the miller's house Fakkert as a whole is quite unique in the Netherlands. This mill has been on the list of National Monuments since 2003. After a restoration, the wooden octagon of the mill was placed next to the hull on the site. Since then, the octagon has acted as a gazebo. In 2001 the mill was bought by the municipality. There were plans to demolish the mill, but in the end only the silo buildings were demolished. There was a lot of resistance to the demolition by local residents.
Overijssel The Netherlands
Share this point of interest