Molen De Reiger Visit the website
This mill is one of the five mills of the Grote Veenpolder. The mill was built in 1871 and over the years it has had different owners. In 1956 the mill was temporarily shut down because the mill was no longer in order. An attempt was made to repair the mill, but in 1958 the mill was finally shut down. The mill was sold to a new owner, who converted the mill into a weekend residence. In 1969 there was a small overhaul to restore the dilapidated mill, but the mill was no longer capable of turning. In 2005, the mill was renovated on a large scale, making the mill operational again. Yet the mill never ran, because it was mainly used as a home. In 2013 the blades finally made a few laps again after decades of inactivity. During the last refurbishment it was found that both rods of the mill date from 1871, the year of construction of the mill. That is quite unique.
Friesland The Netherlands
Share this point of interest